Senior Citizens with BPD?

I was just replying to a comment on my last post and mentioned not being able to imagine being like this in 20 years. Are there any statistics about older people (say 70+) with BPD? How do they cope? What are their lives like?

I’m 51 and have shown symptoms of BPD my whole life (seriously! even in my mom’s baby notes), actively struggling since I was 16ish. That’s a H#LL of a long time already! To think of the years ahead is overwhelming. This is who and what I am. I wish I could pluck it out of my being, but I can’t. So – how do I get through the rest of my life and feel good about myself? 

Image

4 thoughts on “Senior Citizens with BPD?

  1. Interesting question. I have bipolar disorder and now you having me wondering what that will look like as I get older. I’m 49 right now.

  2. This is a good question. Since I haven’t been diagnosed with BPD, I haven’t thought about it. Nor have I heard about it. I would think that some mental illnesses haven’t been recognized for long enough to know what they’re like at an elderly age.

    Have you ever checked out a website called Beyond Meds? It’s run by a lady who gathers all kinds of resources on mental health/illness and lots of info about both using meds and using alternative approaches including alternative views of even what mental illnesses are. There might be something there about your question.

Leave a Reply

