This is something I constantly struggle with – what other people think of me. It ties into my fear of abandonment (if they don’t like me, they will leave me) and my low self esteem. It can even lead to self injury. When I read this post, I knew it had to reblog it!

Cathy's Voice Now

“What other people think of me is none of my business.” was a quote from Eleanor Roosevelt, first lady (1933 – 1945) and reform leader.

I know it is none of my business, but I am a people pleaser and I want everyone to like me (even if I don’t like them so much) and think the best.  I want to defend my life and choices if someone doesn’t agree or challenges me.  I get angry when I feel judged or misunderstood.

I wrote a blog a couple of years ago about something my therapist calls “baskets.”  She says I only have to be concerned and deal with what is in my basket.  What people think of me is in their basket.  I need to stay out of other people’s baskets, even if I don’t want to.

I was reminded of this quote and these lessons yesterday.  I stayed quiet…

View original post 377 more words

2 thoughts on “

  1. Another version of this is, “I don’t care what you think about me; I love you.” I like that because it tells me my expectations can only be about how I behave.

    • I like the quote because it reminds me that I am me. Not everybody has to like me and I don’t need to try and make everyone like me, so maybe it’s best if I keep my nose out of it.

Leave a Reply

