Strong Person Award

 

From me / Hawkruh:  Thanks to Gypsy atThrough My Eyes: Adventures in Borderlandfor nominating me for the strong person award. Actually, her strength and perseverance have helped keep me going through some tough times! She has inspired me and was one of, if not the very first, blog I followed and the reason I began my own blog. Thanks Gypsy! You are an incredible and resilient woman who has gifts to share with us all.

 

From the original post/award:  You heard me right! You are not weak, you are strong. You are not a failure, you are a fighter! This goes out to all mentalists. And it’s a gift from me (The Quiet Borderline) to you all – Please spread the love. Mental health is not something to be sneered at and it deserves much more respect. Stop the stigmatising.

The Rules:

1. Make sure to add in the above text and image to spread the love and add how little or how much you want!
2. Name your diagnoses – Stand loud and proud! You can tell us a little about them also if you’d like. How you’re affected by these diagnoses and how you are fighting your way out of them.
3. Add a photo of yourself, or some abstract picture that represents you, anything you like!
4. Send this on to as many, yes, as many, people that you like. It can be five, ten, fifty.

Diagnosis:

I suffered for MANY years with no diagnosis of any kind. My family had other issues to focus on and I tried to just blend into the background whenever I was unhappy, not letting them see any of it. Looking back, extreme sensitivity emotionally started when I was a young child. Anxiety as well. Self harm  and bulimia began as a teenager. Huge abandonment fears. In my late teens, drugs entered the picture. Impulsivity increased. Reckless ,Manic behaviors. I was eventually diagnosed as bulimic and depressed at age 29 and admitted for inpatient treatment. There, I was evaluated and told I had BPD, but it was not explained and I never heard another word about it while in treatment. This was back in 1991. All I ever heard about after that was depression and eating disorders until this past spring when the BPD diagnosis was addressed again when I saw a therapist to help me deal with extreme stress. I’d struggled through over 20 years being a high functioning BPD, almost losing my marriage numerous times, not being a very good parent much of the time, not understanding why I was the way I was and feeling crazy, my family always wary of “who” I was going to be coming in (crazy or normal). I have to wonder if any of it could have been avoided if they had educated me when I was first diagnosed instead of just treating me as depressed and my eating disorder with a 12 step program? But then I never sought help for it either. Fear. What is, is. Have to move forward. But I do know you can’t treat BPD with a 12 step program either! It isn’t an addiction!

Nominees (Strong People):

http://stillfugue.com/    Carl

http://mmstores.wordpress.com/   Mandi

http://sleepinginsomniacs.wordpress.com/    John

http://muddyrain.wordpress.com 

http://brettbatten.wordpress.com   Brett

Leave a Reply

