This morning began before the dawn.

This morning began before the dawn. Sprinklers rained down upon lawn and plants before the first light. I took my son to begin his first day in a new school. I guess that means we really have moved and this is our new home. I hope the day goes well for him. I remember when I moved to a new school at the start of sixth grade; I threw up on the bus every morning for a week. Even my sister would not sit with me. It did not go well.

When I returned from taking him to school, I made a cup of coffee and went to sit in the garden, as the sprinklers were done with their morning rain. This is a time I really enjoy! Flocks of tiny gray birds emerge and fly from shrub to shrub drinking up the fresh drops of water dripping from the leaves. Hummingbirds begin their daylong chase/dance with each other. Zipping in spiraling maneuvers like stunt pilots in the sky, sometimes hovering high in the air like tiny crosses before diving straight down. Occasionally, one will pause right before me if I happen to be near the hummingbird feeder, checking me out for safety before going to take a sip. Flycatchers sit at the bird feeder enjoying the shelled sunflower seeds, pecking at the side of the feeder for them to come out faster. Goldfinches try to take turns with a morning bath in the bubbling center of the water fountain, sometimes shoving each other out of the way in their impatience.

As the sun rises higher, the activity in the garden slows down. The Leaves dry off and the flocks fly on. The feeder still has its visitors, though not so many during the heat of the day. The fountain seems to keep busy all day long, as birds, like children, splash in the water to cool off and while away the time.

Image

3 thoughts on “This morning began before the dawn.

  1. BDP is obviously a difficult condition to live with. Don’t we sufferers know it! But, at the same time, if there is a massive positive, it’s that we can pay enough attention to what is going on around us (that we can notice the birds and the rain, that you know the difference between hummingbirds and flycatchers, and see the characteristics of the sun, the garden the leaves).

    The majority of people don’t see, and wouldn’t have a clue nor a care, about any of these small (to them insignificant) details.

    I’m just coming to terms with the fact that I’m BDP. There’s a lot of negatives of course. But if there is One Big Positive, it’s our ability to notice details. To capture nature and write about it as beautiful and poeticly as you just did is really a special talent. To really see and feel and be a part of the natural world is a blessing.

    Thank you for the vision of your garden you captured it perfectly. Garden’s rock! 🙂

    • Thank you and they sure do! One characteristic my parents have noted in me since infancy is my noticing even small details. There are times when it is frustrating ( noticing imperfections and imbalances) but it has also allowed me to see and share things that would have otherwise been unnoticed such as fox kits playing or a Virginia Rail hiding in the brush. Both experiences I shared with my mother on a Mothers Day walk that made her day very special. With curses come blessings. Thank you for the reminder.

Leave a Reply

