Feeling Good

For the first time in quite a while, I woke up feeling good today. I’m not sure why,  but I’ll take it and appreciate it.

Yesterday, I was very anxious. After therapy on Friday (the 13th!) I had driven out of the parking lot like a bat out of hell, in a panic to “get away”.

I had a good group session talking about communication and how only I can control my actions – and the same is true for others. I may not like decisions they make, but they are their decisions to make and not mine. Then, the psychiatrist laid down the law … other people are there, there might have been kids around – even his kids. I WOULD NOT EVER DO THAT AGAIN AT THIS FACILITY … the unspoken words were that if so, I would no longer be allowed to be in the program. POW! The conversation led me to have some other discussions throughout the day about how I could have sidestepped the trigger that led to the panic. Later, in art therapy, I had a good experience with the project we were working on. It somewhat illustrated moving forward from a place that was dark, with only a little light, to a much lighter place, although the dark was not completely gone. Nothing’s perfect.

During the evening, conversation felt comfortable with my husband for the first time in I don’t know how long! I also taught karate and felt better there than in months. And I had a good night’s sleep. So now I start a new day, feeling good. What a change! I wonder what the day will bring?

4 thoughts on “Feeling Good

Leave a Reply

